Bright: A Love of Labour

#Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQIA authors, readers, and bloggers that gather weekly to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).

In this group you’ll find anything from romance and historical fiction to mystery and YA. The common thread is that every story’s main character identifies as LGBTQIA. The snippets could range from zero flames to full-on sexytimes, anything goes content-wise. The only rule is snippets will be 6 sentences long–one for each color in the Pride flag.

Visit Rainbow Snippets on Facebook and enjoy as many LGBTQIA Snippets as you can feast your eyes on!!!! 😀

As for me, I am going to post more from my 2nd novel, BRIGHT. I just have to share what a wonderful experience writing this has been. It was difficult. The first draft was rife with errors about the causal factors of lost pregnancies (problems solved by my dear mother and my dear editor Debbie! That reminds me, I have to re-write a small bit of the story BOYFRIEND GOES HOME…oh dear!) which embarrass me, but being an asexual, I should have thought to consult HUMANS instead of say…Wikipedia…about miscarriage.

But on the bright (pun intended) side, writing this story was indeed an experience I’d never trade in. My cousin Leslie, the very first person to have beta’d my debut novel Crush, hinted to me that the character Natalie Mattheis needed a story of her own. And so, the sun rose and circled the sky from November 2011 and finally set behind the buttes carved by the Snake River in December 2015. I only pray Armour doesn’t take so long to form in my creative womb.

I was going to say “IT’S SEXAY TIME!!!” and post a full-on raunchy snippet, but I think you need to understand the bond between Monty and Walter, one tiny snippet at a time. I want to cast a spell over you, reel you in gently.

Here goes:

“Saying it will bring back the gigantic lump,
the enormous spasm filled with loneliness that I have lied to myself
about for the past fourteen—no—the past fucking twenty-nine
years! Saying what I’m dying to say will compromise the hull. Saying
what I want to say to this infuriatingly lovely, pale, sickly creature
will open the floodgates, and then there will be no going back.
My heart aches…my soul aches…
Swallow it down! I order myself.
“You love me,” Walter says, and laughs and sniffles at the same
time.”

Song of the Week: “Frail (You Might As Well Be Me”) by the Gathering. Goes with the scene above, and the aftermath.

3 thoughts on “Bright: A Love of Labour

Leave a Reply

